About Us
All-Area Teams Announced

From Wednesday, November 27 through Wednesday, December 4, the Pottstown Mercury released its All-Area teams for the fall 2019 season.  A different sport is announced daily throughout the week.  Athletes are selected to one of three distinctions: First-Team, Second-Team, or Honorable Mention.  There is also a Player of the Year and a Coach of the Year chosen for each sport.

Following an historic season in which the team finished the season ranked ninth nationally, the field hockey team led Hill with nine All-Area selections and four First-Team nods.  Jen Weissbach was named “Coach of the Year” after guiding the team to a 17-3 overall record, a second-consecutive MAPL Championship, and an appearance in the PAISAA State Championship game.  The boys’ soccer team also was well-represented with six players chosen for All-Area accolades. 

In all, 29 Hill student-athletes earned All-Area distinction (note that water polo is not played locally and therefore water polo teams are not represented).  Below is a list of Hill’s selections:

Boys’ Cross Country 
First Team
Jamie Olson ’21

Second Team
Shahzaib Umer ’20

Girls’ Cross Country 
Second Team
Olivia Tullman ’20

Field Hockey 
First Team
Kennedy Cliggett ’21
Logan Clouser ’21
Rease Coleman ’21
Josephine Palde ’21

Second Team
Alex Conway ’20
Maddy Orsi ’22

Honorable Mention
Hayley Gable ’22
Ashley Kling ’20
Sarah Rogalski ’21

Coach of the Year
Jen Weissbach

Honorable Mention
Gernard Finney ’20
Michael Jamerson ’20
Payton Reid ’20

Boys’ Golf 
First Team
Billy Gussler ’21

Honorable Mention
Sam Mitchell ’22
Lucas Steinmetz ’23
Echo Wu ’20

Boys’ Soccer 
First Team
Zach Barrett ’20
Baba Kallie ’20

Second Team
Sam Beckett ’22
Caleb Gerdeman ’21

Honorable Mention
Jordan Samuels ’22
Ryan Woolley ’22

Girls’ Soccer 
Honorable Mention
Lindsey Coffey ’20
Marah Krick ’21

Girls’ Tennis 
First Team
Tyne Miller ’20
Elena Zhang ’20