About Us
Student-Led Theater Production for Pottstown to Assist Operation 143 Food Ministry

Students in The Hill School’s Ellis Theatre Guild are working to provide entertainment for the community while giving back to Pottstown by collecting canned goods and cash donations for Operation 143, an organization that provides food to children and youth in need in local school districts.

The students will stage a family-friendly theatrical reading with performed musical numbers from “A Funny Thing Happened on the Way to the Forum” at 7 p.m. on Saturday, May 14, at the new Mary Delan '20 Amphitheater, an outdoor stage, located at The Hill’s Center For The Arts at 766 Beech St. A ceremony dedicating the Ampitheather will take place at 6:30 p.m. *Note: Due to the weather, the event has been moved inside the CFTA.

The students are asking that all guests bring a can of non-perishable, easy to open food that school-aged children and youths can easily prepare for themselves; items need to have a long shelf life to last through fall 2022.  Operation 143 especially appreciates Chef Boyardee canned ravioli with pop-top lids. Students also will accept cash donations – all of which will be donated to Operation 143.

Daniel Schlegel '23 will be directing the production. He said he is excited about this community service endeavor, as well as the chance for students to literally run the show. 

“Having students helm the production puts their theater skills to the test,” Daniel says. “We have no doubt the fun we have in creating the show will be shared by the audience.”

With beloved music by Stephen Sondheim and book by Burt Shevelove and Larry Gelbart, “Forum” tells the story of a slave named Pseudolus and his attempts to win his freedom. Below is the cast and crew:


Luke Gerdeman '23
Timmy Woodward '24
Cordelia Davies '23
Gaby Henao '22
Marshall Welch '23
Lizzie Hopper '23
Daniel Schlegel '23
Harry Whaley '25
Andrew Spatarella '22
Nimala Sivakumar '23
Sissi Zhen '24
Denise Jayde (DJ) - guest actor
Isabella Moranheras '22
Johnny Dai '22
Henry Wicklund '22

Tech Crew:

Payton Jobson '23
Tofe Akinyanmi '23
Henry Wicklund '22
Lilian Rizek '22
Arwen Lutwyche '22
Meredith Marks '24
Nimala Sivakumar '23
Cayden Cubbin '25
Zach Rice '24
Fife Akinyanmi '25