The Arts
"Songs for a New World" (Fall Musical)
The Hill School’s Ellis Theatre Guild performed its fall musical, Songs for a New World, in The Hill School's newly created Burton A. Merriam Black Box Theatre (BAM Box) on October 26, 27, and 28.
The first musical from Tony Award winner, Jason Robert Brown (Parade, ), this moving collection of powerful songs examines life, love, and the choices that we make. Brown transports his audience from the deck of a 1492 Spanish sailing ship to a ledge, 57 stories above Fifth Avenue, to meet a startling array of characters that range from a young man who has determined that basketball is his ticket out of the ghetto to a woman whose dream of marrying rich nabs her the man of her dreams... and a soulless marriage.
On Saturday, Nov. 10, the cast and crew celebrated the success of their show with a "red carpet" showing of the musical at the local Movie Tavern. They then had the opportunity to meet with Jason Robert Brown prior to his special live performance in the CFTA.

CAST: Augustus Kellerman ’19, Mary DeLan ’20, Matthew McCray (Norristown High School), Anna Gvodas ’20, Max Pollak ’19, Alex Muñoz ’19, Lexi Chroscinski ’19, Sine Polcharoen ’19, Joyce Pu ’19, Geordie Ravara ’22, Samir Khan ’21, Holden Rosenfeld ’22, Shivam Sachdeva ’20, Martin Tran ’22, Adele Harris ’22, Lauryn Fudala ’21, Daniel Schlegel (Douglassville, Pa.), Alexander Zhu ’19, Reva Tharwani ’20, Rachel Kauffman (Barth Elementary School)

CREW: Benjamin “Benji” Holladay ’20, Matt Valerio ’19, Maddie Perry ’20, Sabrina Messineo ’20, Mariia Smyk ’20, C.J. Duff ’20, Andreas Haperis ’21 , Philip Kershner ’21, Johnny Luu ’20, Joseph Magen ’21, Spencer Metz ’22, Livvy Mofus ’22, Ayana Morgan ’21, Deeow Munkong ’19, Gray Pham ’19, Maimouna Sylla ’21, Harrison Wolf ’19, Meagan Yang ’19, Helen Zhuang ’20 

Director: Chris McGriff; Production Design: Mike McKibben; Musical Director: Stephen Longenecker; Choreographer: Laura Cobbs; Costume Director:Wei-Jei DeLucia; New Orchestrations/Arrangements: Christopher Robinson of CrC Music; Sound Design: Christopher Dissin; Stage Manager: Kathryn McHugh '19